Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue
Katie Potter reading to students

Join the Journey

The College of Education, Health, and Human Sciences enhances lives through research, outreach and practice. Our students are the how a student learns to read, why disabilities don’t define people, how a child is given a voice, how educational leaders are forged, how healthy bodies are made, how women and children are empowered through sports, how cancer can be cured, and how families thrive.  The stories of how and why our students and alumni are enhancing the lives of others are diverse and endless.  With the generosity of our alumni and friends, we’ll continue to develop leaders in and out of the classroom and equip them with the skills and knowledge to have a positive impact in their community and around the globe.

Our Vision is to create a world that values knowledge, education, and health as key contributors to improved quality of life for all. givenowbutton

The College has specific funding priorities and an overall goal of $40,000,000. The Join the Journey campaign will be fueled by the university’s alumni and friends through their support, both as advocates and investors. We invite you to join us on our journey.

      Case for Support

Join the Journey Logo

The College of Education, Health, and Human Sciences is a very diverse and unique college on the campus of the University of Tennessee, Knoxville.  Its reach is extensive and provides untold benefits not only through our degree offerings but also through research, economic development, and cultural advancements.  By preparing innovative teachers, childhood specialists, public-health experts, nutritionists, and exercise scientists the College improves our economy, enriches the lives of individuals, and makes a significant impact locally, nationally, and internationally.

As part of our ambitious goals, the College has specific funding priorities:

The College of Education, Health, and Human Sciences is committed to academic excellence, the advancement of scholarship, and to addressing societal needs.  The college has a rich history of preparing and placing students in a variety of diverse fields which can only be accomplished through high-quality faculty.  Attracting and retaining outstanding faculty who will proudly represent our college, embrace our vision, and provide excellent leadership is vital to future success.
The College of Education, Health, and Human Sciences Graduate School of Education has continually been ranked in the top 35 among public colleges and strives to graduate optimal numbers of diverse graduate students who are prepared to become leaders in their disciplines.  The Strategic Priorities of the College include: improving graduate student recruitment initiatives, promoting collaborative academic support across disciplines, exploring new graduate degree programs, and increasing graduate student financial support.
Much like competitive graduate programs, attracting and retaining a diverse body of undergraduate students is a priority within the college.  Developing these students who will become productive contributors to their professions is an important mission of the college.  The positive impact undergraduate students will make to our future will be seen in a wide-range of disciplines such as kinesiology, art education, recreational and sport management, nutrition, and special education
The college and individual departments depend heavily on unrestricted gifts to establish excellence funds and support strategic initiatives.  These gifts provide flexibility for the dean and department heads to enhance their programs and positively impact the greatest need at that time.

Another strategic priority of the college is to promote excellence in outreach.  This focus is not only local but also global in scale.  Providing service through outreach, social and civic engagement, building new knowledge for positive change, and encouraging civic dialogue and economic development is also an important function of this priority.

Fulfilling this mission will be accomplished through enhancing and developing new programs and initiatives.  Current programs making a positive impact and in need of private support are; The Center for Sport, Peace, and Society, Community Schools Initiative, VolsTeach STEM Program, Center for Educational Leadership, KLASS Center, and the FUTURE Program.


Currently, the College has reached 111% of our overall goal, because of you, our alumni and friends, more than $44,658,191 has been raised.




We would like to thank our Campaign Steering Committee for their help in preparing for this journey:  Gary & Becki Blauser, Laurel Buntin, Susan Dillard, Joe Johnson, Bill McKee, Nathan Rowell, Tom & Darla Skelton.