Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

CEHHS Alumna Receives 3rd Place as 2018 National Aerospace STEM Teacher of the Year

The College of Education, Health, and Human Sciences (CEHHS) congratulates Sherilyn Dawson.  Dawson was selected as the Third Place winner for the Air Force Association 2018 National Aerospace/STEM Teacher of the Year. Dawson, currently a teacher at Concord Christian School, is a 1993 graduate of the Curriculum and Instruction Program (Theory and Practice in Teacher Education) in CEHHS.  She was recognized for her exemplary achievements in promoting STEM education to the K-5 and 9-12 grade after school programs at Concord Christian School and for her work to provide educators exciting aerospace opportunities at the TN Aerospace workshop.

The Department of Theory and Practice in Teacher Education, in cooperation with the Civil Air Patrol, NASA, and the Tennessee Department of Transportation, Office of Aeronautics hosts the Kermit Duckett Memorial Aerospace Education Teacher Workshop, now in its 23rd year.  Teachers in the greater Knoxville, TN metro area participate in a balanced combination of classroom learning and “hands on” laboratory experience under supervision of instructions who have extensive experience in their respective aerospace science fields.  Learn more about the workshop from the Department of Theory and Practice in Teacher Education.